deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Intra Ocular Vision Aid (IOS)

Background

 

 

Severe corrosion of the eye , intraocular infections (uveitis), or injuries caused by explosions may cause dullness of the cornea or shrinkage of the anterior part of the eye. Although the retinal function is often still intact, this dullness or shrinkage leads in many cases to blindness of the affected person, as the light is perturbed on its way to the retina.

The goal of this project is the design of an intraocular vision aid which is overcoming the disturbed light path, thus yielding to an improved visual acuity of the patient. However, a precondition for the usability of such a vision aid is the intact function of the retina. 

 

 

 

Function Principle

Images of the field of view of the patient are continuously captured by a pair of glasses attached CMOS-camera. The images are transferred to an implanted micro display via a wireless infrared communication link. An optical setup between the encapsulated micro display and the retina is imaging the displayed information to the retina.

 

 

 

Spatial dependent information distribution

The limited display resolution available inside the eye does not allow a linear distribution of the information onto the retina: a linear pixel distribution over the whole retinal area would result in an insufficient spatial resolution and thus vision. The concentration of the information onto a small central area of the retina on the other hand will result in a tunnel view of the patient. By introducing a nonlinear spatial distribution of the displayed information it is possible to build a trade-off between the two mentioned linear problematics.

 

 

Psychophysical Simulation

 

Psychophysical analysis of optimal information distribution schemes onto the retina made the design of a simulator necessary. The field of view of a pro-band is captured, processed, based on the distribution scheme to be evaluated, and imaged via an external video display. Eye tracking of the test person accounts for a correct imaging of the views scene with the goal to exactly simulate an intraocular vision aid.

 

 

Optic Design

 

The limited display resolution inside the eye and the complex imaging function requires the need of a special optic design for the intraocular vision aid. With a combination of a shading mask together with a micro lens it is possible to realize the desired image distribution.

 

 

Project

Intra Ocular Vision Aid (IOS)

 

Contact

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Stork

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Intraokulare Sehhilfe

Intraokulare Sehhilfe (IOS)

Hintergründe

 

Trübungen der Hornhaut oder Schrumpfungen des vorderen Augenabschnitts nach schweren Augenverätzungen, schwersten intraokularen Entzündungen oder Explosionsverletzungen führen trotz der Weiterentwicklung mikrochirurgischer Techniken auch noch heute in vielen Fällen zur Erblindung des Patienten. Die meisten dieser Patienten verfügen dennoch über eine intakte und voll funktionsfähige Netzhaut (Retina).
Ziel in diesem Projekt ist die Entwicklung einer Intraokularen Sehhilfe (IOS), die eine Trübungen des vorderen Augenabschnittes überbrückt und dem Patienten ein zumindest orientierendes Sehvermögen zurückgibt. Voraussetzung hierfür ist eine intakte Funktion der Netzhaut. 
 

 

 

Funktionsweise

 

Der Patient empfängt über eine in einer Brille eingebaute CMOS-Kamera ein Bild der Umwelt, das über eine drahtlose Signalübertragung auf ein Display gesendet wird. Dieses Display ist in einem Silikondiaphragma eingebettet und in Höhe des Strahlenkörpers im Auge implantiert. Eine sich zwischen dem Display und der Retina befindende Optik sorgt dafür, dass die Displayinformation optimal auf die Netzhaut abgebildet wird.

 

Ortsabhängige Informationsverteilung

 

Eine begrenzte Informationsdichte des intraokularen Mikrodisplays ermöglichen es nicht, die von ihm zur Verfügung gestellte Bildinformation örtlich linear auf der Retina abzubilden: Eine lineare Informationsverteilung über die gesamte Retina würde ein nicht akzeptables Auflösungsvermögen realisieren, wohingegen eine Konzentration der Information auf einen kleinen retinalen Bereich (z. B. den des scharfen Sehens) für den Patienten in einen Tunneleffekt resultieren würde. Durch die Einführung einer nichtlinearen Verteilung unterschiedlicher Vergrößerungen ist es möglich, die beiden beschriebenen Problematiken zu umgehen.

 

 

Psychophysische Simulation

 

Zur Evaluierung optimaler Informationsverteilungsstrategien wurde ein Simulator zur psychophysischen Analyse erstellt. Eine von der betrachteten Umgebung aufgenommene Bildsequenz wird gemäß der zu untersuchenden Verteilungsalgorithmen über ein Videodisplay in das Auge eingekoppelt. Über eine automatische Blickrichtungsbestimmung der Testperson wird dafür Sorge getragen, dass die Bildinformation beim gesunden Auge an die selbe Position wie bei einer intraokulare Sehhilfe abgebildet wird.

 

 

Optik Design

 

Die begrenzten Abmessungen des Auges sowie die Komplexität der Abbildungsfunktion benötigen den Entwurf einer speziellen Abbildungsoptik für die Sehhilfe. Durch eine Schattenwurfanordnung im Zusammenspiel mit einer abbildendn Linse ist es möglich, die gewünschte Funktion zu realisieren.

 

 

 

Projekte

Intraokulare Sehilfe (IOS)

 

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Stork