deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Bluetooth™ Telemetry Body / Personal Area Network (BAN / PAN)

Wireless Data Transmission for Medical Application

Oodles of data-cables, which make difficult the daily work with patients – a typical scenario. Wireless data transmission using the Bluetooth™ Technology can bring a solution to this situation. Distances of up to 100 m can be simply and securely overcome – at data rates up to 720 kbit/s. Low energy consumption, encrypted communication and simple configuration make Bluetooth the ideal transmission technique for medical applications . Cable connections based on RS232 can also be replaced by Bluetooth and Bluetooth enable devices.

 

 

Flexible Connection

 

The possibilities of application of the Bluetooth™ Technology go far beyond cable replacement: once connected to a cellular telephone, mobile devices are able to access to the internet, which constitutes an ideal solution for mobile telemonitoring applications.  
Visiting the doctor for data transfer is not necessary anymore, and the patient’s data are immediately available. For indoor applications, in hospitals or nursing homes, Bluetooth™ network access points enable a permanent and secure data transmission. In this way, it is possible to monitor patients during transportation, and the data can be directly stored in a centralized data-base.

 

 

Easy Integration in new and current Products

We have already integrated Bluetooth™ telemetry in different medical devices ( e.g. long-term ECG, blood pressure monitor and pulse oximeter ) and realized connections with different information systems ( e.g. internet-based patient record ). We would be glad to support you in the implementation of your Bluetooth™ application.
With the help of our flexible hard- and software modules, we develop specific solutions based on your demands and requirements – from a single-chip-module for a simple communication task to a complete signal- and data processing system for complex embedded systems.

 

 

Contact

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Stork

Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV)

Bluetooth Telemetrie

Bluetooth™ Telemetrie
Body / Personal Area Network (BAN / PAN)

Drahtlose Datenübertragung für medizinische Anwendungen

 

Wer kennt das nicht: Unmengen von Datenkabeln, welche die tägliche Arbeit mit Patienten erschweren. Drahtlose Datenübertragung auf Basis der Bluetooth™-Technologie kann hier Abhilfe schaffen. Entfernungen bis zu 100 m werden damit einfach und sicher überbrückt – und das bei Datenraten bis zu 720 kbit/s. Niedriger Stromverbrauch, verschlüsselte Übertragung und die einfache Konfiguration machen Bluetooth™ zur idealen Übertragungstechnik für medizinische Anwendungen . Kabelverbindungen auf RS232-Basis lassen sich mit Bluetooth™ auch bei bestehenden Geräten problemlos ersetzen.

 

 

Flexible Anbindung

 

Die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten der Bluetooth™-Technologie gehen aber weit über den Kabelersatz hinaus: In Verbindung mit einem Mobiltelefon ermöglicht sie mobilen Geräten den Zugriff auf das Internet und stellt so eine ideale Lösung für mobile Telemonitoring-Anwendungen dar. Der Weg zum Arzt zur Datenübertragung entfällt und die Daten sind sofort verfügbar. Im klinischen Umfeld ermöglichen Bluetooth™-Access-Points eine dauerhafte und sichere Datenübertragung. So ist ein Vital-Monitoring auch während des Transports der Patienten möglich, und die Daten können direkt in eine zentrale Datenbasis übernommen werden.

 

 

Einfache Integration in neue und bestehende Produkte

 

Wir haben Bluetooth™-Telemetrie bereits exemplarisch in verschiedene medizintechnische Geräte integriert (z.B. Langzeit-EKG, Blutdruck-Monitor und Pulsoximeter) und eine Anbindung an verschiedene Informationssysteme (z.B. internetbasierte Patientenakte) realisiert. Gerne unterstützen wir auch Sie bei der Realisierung Ihrer Bluetooth™-Anwendung.
Mit Hilfe unserer flexiblen Hard- und Softwaremodule entwickeln wir eine auf Ihre Anforderungen zugeschnittene Lösung – vom Single-Chip-Modul für reine Kommunikationsaufgaben bis hin zum kompletten Signal- und Datenverarbeitungsystem für komplexe eingebettete Systeme.

 

 

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Stork