deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Wearable Computing

Smart Clothes Technologies

Smart Clothes

 

Although experts estimate a high potential for smart clothes applications in the future, so far there are no promising industrial applications at hand. In order to promote the development of smart clothes extensive collaboration of industry partners of the fields of fiber, fabric and clothing technologies together with research partners of the fields of information and micro system technologies has been launched.

 

 

Technology - Platform for Smart Clothes

The aim of this interdisciplinary collaboration is the first modular technology platform dedicated to Smart Clothes, consisting of:

  • miniaturized smart sensors (e.g. temperature, moisture, pulse, ECG)
  • communication within fabrics (Fabric Area Network, FAN)
  • integrated digital signal processing, control and communication modules
  • energy generation and accumulation within fabrics
  • analysis of packaging possibilities of micro systems within smart clothes (reliability, environmental influences, washable, hygienic aspects)

 

 

Smart Clothes – The Future of Monitoring

Clothes with integrated vital sensors, signal processing and communication units are potential solutions for improving the continuous monitoring of vital functions. Especially for the monitoring of risk patients and nursing cases, the integration of sensors into clothes can be applied for monitoring vital functions of the patients without any annoyance and inconspicuously.

 

 

Bluetooth™-ECG-Shirt

 

One of the most important measurements for medical diagnosis is the recording of ECG data. Compared to standard devices a measurement system integrated into clothes offers a number of advantages especially for long time measurements, e.g. for risk patients or for the diagnosis of sporadic events (event monitoring). The Bluetooth™-ECG-Shirt can be worn like everyday clothing. Continuous supervision of vital parameters is indiscernible to other people and there is no effort required for the application of the sensors. Even the operation of the system can be realized without the need of the patient's interaction. Eudermic fabric electrodes are integrated into the shirt and hence placed correctly by default. The complete system can be washed just like usual clothing.

Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV)

Wearable Computing

Smart Clothes Technologien

Smart Clothes

 

Obwohl intelligenter Kleidung („Smart Clothes“) von Experten eine großes Zukunftspotential zugeschrieben wird, sind vielversprechende industrielle Anwendungen noch nicht in Sicht. Daher haben sich Partner aus dem Bereich der Mode und Textiltechnik sowie aus der Informations- und Mikrosystemtechnikforschung zu einer interdisziplinären Projektinititive zusammengeschlossen, um die Entwicklung intelligenter Kleidung voranzutreiben.

 

 

Technologie-Plattform für intelligente Kleidung

 

Ziel ist die erstmalige Entwicklung einer modularen Technologie-Plattform für intelligente Kleidung mit:

  • miniaturisierter intelligenter Sensorik (z.B. Temperatur,  Feuchte, Puls, EKG)
  • Verfahren zur Informationsübertragung in Textilien (Fabric Area Network)
  • integrierbaren digitalen Signalverarbeitungs-, Regelungs-  und Kommunikationsmodulen
  • Erzeugung und Speicherung von Energie in Bekleidung
  • Untersuchungen zur Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik von Mikrosystemen in intelligenter Kleidung (Zuverlässigkeit, Umwelteinflüsse, Waschbarkeit, Hygiene)

 

 

Intelligente Kleidung – das Monitoring der Zukunft

 

Kleidung mit integrierter Vitalsensorik, Signalverarbeitung und Kommunikation birgt ein enormes Verbesserungspotential für das kontinuierliche Vitalmonitoring. Insbesondere für die Überwachung von Risikopatienten und pflegebedürftigen Menschen kann die in Kleidung integrierte Sensorik in Betracht gezogen werden. Der Patient wird dadurch völlig belastungsfrei und unauffällig in seinen Vitalfunktionen überwacht.

 

 

Bluetooth™-EKG-Shirt

 

Eines der wichtigsten Messverfahren in der medizinischen Diagnostik ist die Aufnahme eines EKGs. Insbesondere bei längerfristigen Messungen, z.B. bei Risikopatienten oder zur Diagnose sporadisch auftretender Ereignisse bietet ein in die Kleidung integriertes EKG-System Vorteile gegenüber den herkömmlichen Verfahren. Das BLUetooth™-EKG-Shirt wird wie ein normales Kleidungsstück getragen, d.h. es ist für die Mitmenschen unsichtbar und es gibt für den Benutzer keinen Aufwand beim Anlegen des Systems. Auch die Bedienung des Systems funktioniert ohne eine explizite Interaktion des Patienten. Die hautfreundlichen Textilelektroden sind in die Kleidung integriert und dadurch automatisch richtig platziert. Das gesamte System ist wie normale Kleidung waschbar.