Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung

Vital Sensors

Instrumentation

 

The group is working in the field of vital sensors especially concerning innovative smart sensors for bio-medical applications. The focus is the acquisition and analysis of various bio-medical signals of the human body. Often optical measurement techniques are applied. Typical examples for these optical sensor principles are laser Doppler flowmetry interferometry, spectroscopy and polarimetry as utilized in non-contact tonometry and non-invasive glucose monitor.

Apart from these optical principles also standard applications are implemented and optimized. Examples for such works are bluetooth™-ECG and pulse oximetry.

 

Signal Processing

 

Another emphasis of the group is analogue signal conditioning and digital signal processing . Signals of the human body are usually prone to large scale fluctuations and noise. Hence a reliable measurement of such signals is a challenging task.

To meet the requirements the group develops innovative signal processing schemes with special concern of miniaturized smart sensors and their limited resources. Using such complex algorithms, measurement devices can be realized offering completely new possibilities for diagnosis and therapy . A good example for such new sensors is the successful development of vontinously and without strain blood pressure monitor or the research in the field of stressless breath monitoring.

 

Test, Analysis & Certification

 

For the development of reliable algorithms and sensors extensive test and analysis of the developed hardware and software is needed. These are done in the Mixed Signal Laboratory of the institute. The laboratory is well equipped with state-of-the-art technology and measurement devices allowing different tests with various environment conditions.
Together with cooperating clinics the developed prototypes are tested in various clinical trials.

 

Know-How Transfer

 

The group mainly concentrates on product-oriented research and development projects in close cooperation with industrial partners as well as other research groups.
The already developed smart vital sensors are being miniaturized and integrated in existing systems and platforms. In close collaboration with industrial partners the sensors are finalized to be ready for production and commercial use.

 

Contact

Prof. Dr. rer.nat. Wilhelm Stork

Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV)

Vitalsensorik

Messtechnik

 

Im Bereich der Vitalsensorik beschäftigt sich die Arbeitsgruppe mit der Entwicklung innovativer intelligenter Sensoren für die Medizintechnik. Kernthema ist dabei die Erfassung und Auswertung der unterschiedlichsten medizinisch-biologischen Signale am menschlichen Körper. Oft finden dabei optische Messverfahren ihre Anwendung. Typische Beispiele für die eingesetzten optischen Vefahren sind Laser-Doppler Flußmessung, Interferometrie, Spektroskopie und Polarimetrie wie sie in der berührungslosen Tonometrie und der nicht-invasiven Blutzuckermessung eingesetzt werden.

Abgesehen von diesen optischen Prinzipien werden aber auch Standardtechnologien eingesetzt und verbessert. Beispiele hierfür sind Langzeit-EKG und Pulsoximetrie.

 

Signalverarbeitung

 

Ein weitere Schwerpunkt stellt die analoge Signalaufbereitung sowie die digitale Signalverarbeitung dar. Messgrößen am menschlichen Körper unterliegen in der Regel grossen Schwankungen und Störsignalen, weshalb deren zuverlässige messtechnische Erfassung höchst anspruchsvoll ist.

In der Arbeitsgruppe werden daher innovative Signalverarbeitungsalgorithmen entwickelt, die insbesondere in miniaturisierten intelligenten Sensoren mit beschränkten Ressourcen eingesetzt werden können. Mit Hilfe solcher komplexer Algorithmen können Messprinzipien realisiert werden, die neue Möglichkeiten in Diagnostik und Therapie ermöglichen. Ein typisches Beispiel hierfür ist die erfolgreiche Entwicklung eines kontinuierlich messenden und zugleich belastungsfreien Blutdruckmonitors oder die Forschung auf dem Gebiet des belastungsfreien Atmungsmonitorings.

 

Test, Analyse & Gutachten

 

Die Entwicklung zuverlässiger Algorithmen und Sensoren erfordert ausgiebige Tests und Analysen  der entwickelten Hard- und Software. Diese werden im institutseigenen Mixed-Signal Test-Labor durchgeführt. Das mit neusten Technologien ausgestattete Labor ermöglicht unzählige Tests unter verschiedenen Umgebungsbedingungen.
Die entwickelten Prototypen werden in Zusammenarbeit mit Kliniken in umfangreichen Studien verifiziert und optimiert.

 

Know-How Transfer

 

Die Arbeitsgruppe führt fast ausschliesslich produktorientierte Forschungsarbeiten in enger Zusammenarbeit mit entsprechenden Industriepartnern durch.
Die entwickelten intelligenten Vital-Sensoren (Smart Sensors) werden miniaturisiert, in bestehende Systeme integriert und abschliessend in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem jeweiligen Industriepartner zur Produktreife geführt.

 

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. rer.nat. Wilhelm Stork