deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Laser Doppler Velocimeter

Background

 

For industrial applications the high prescision, non-contact measurement of length without worn-out of the measurement device is very important. Typical applications are tailoring of band materials like foils or fabrics. The common measurement devices used until now, like wheels in combination with incremental encoders, do not completely meet these demands. Hence together with industry partners the ITIV developed a robust compact optical sensor which meets these requirements.

 

 

Principle

 

The functional principle of the sensor is the Laser Doppler Velocimetry . Using two laser beams a line pattern is projected onto the media to-be measured. Due to the movement of the scattering surface the reflected light on the detector will be intensity modulated. The frequency of the modulation is proportional to the velocity of the scattering surface. This way no special marks or additional components in contact with the surface have to be used. The scattered light is analyzed by a high computing power digital signal processor (DSP) system. Using this high computing power system the actual velocity as well as the precise length can be calculated.

 

 

Cooperation

 

In close collaboration with our industry partners the ITIV could bring the measurement system all the way from research validation down to the market. The system has been successfully launched world wide and is the only comparable commercial device being PDB-Certified . Currently the second generation sensor being even smaller and faster is under development.
This project is a good example of the know-how transfer from university institutes to industry and shows that the ITIV is an ideal a competent partner for industry research and development projects.

 

 

Contact

 

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Stork

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Laser Doppler Velocimeter

Hintergrund

 

In der industriellen Messtechnik ist die berührungslose , verschleissfreie und hochpräzise Vermessung von Längen äusserst wichtig. Ein typsiches Anwendungsgebiet ist das Konfektionieren von Bandmaterialien wie Folien oder Stoffe. Die bisher üblichen mechanischen Messysteme, wie z.B. Laufräder mit integriertem Inkrementalgeber erfüllen diese Anforderungen nur sehr bedingt. Aus diesem Grunde wurde am ITIV zusammen mit einem Industriepartner eine kompaktes optisches System entwickelt, welches diese Aufgabe erfüllen kann.

 

Funktionsweise

 

Funktionsbasis für diesen Sensor ist die Laser Doppler Velocimetrie . Dabei wird auf dem zu vermessenden Medium mit Hilfe zweier Laserstrahlen ein Streifenmuster erzeugt. Durch die Bewegung der streuenden Oberfläche wird das in den Detektor rückgestreute Licht in seiner Intensität moduliert, wobei die Frequenz der Helligkeitsmodulation direkt proportional der Geschwindigkeit des Mediums ist. Die Verwendung spezieller Marken oder Maßstäbe auf dem Meßobjekt ist nicht nötig. Das gestreute Licht wird über einen Photodetektor in ein elektrisches Signal umgewandelt und über einen Analog / Digital Umsetzer einem Digitalen Signalprozessor (DSP) zugeführt. Mit diesem Hochleistungsprozessor wird dann die aktuelle Geschwindigkeit und ggf. Medienlänge aus dem digitalisierten Signal berechnet.

 

Kooperation

 

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Industriepartner wurde das Messsysteme entwickelt und zur Produktreife geführt. Nach der erfolgreichen Einführung im internationalen Markt und der PDB-Zertifizierung als einziges unter vergleichbaren Systemen wird mittlerweile an der zweiten, kompakteren Generation des Sensors entwickelt.
Diese Entwicklung ist somit ein gelungenes Beispiel für den Wissenstransfer von universitären Forschungseinrichtung zur Industrie und zeigt, dass das ITIV ein idealer Partner für industrielle Froschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten ist.

 

 

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Stork