deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Strainless Breath Monitoring

Background

 

Current estimates assume 25 to 30 percent of the population in the Western countries to suffer from sleep disorders like obstructive sleep apnea syndrome (OSA). Many of these cases can effectively be treated. Even though untreated sleep disorders are known to considerably constrain the quality of life of concerned people, the majority of the patients do not receive appropriate medical diagnosis and care. A diagnosis in a sleep laboratory implies, besides remarkable stress for the patient, an enormous time exposure and high costs in human resources. Together with the limited number of diagnostic stations, this leads to the effect of long term unrecognized sleep apnea syndrome .

Within the scope of the Personal Health Monitor project a device is being developed to serve as preliminary diagnostic system when a patient is suspected of having OSA. Special attention is given for the development of an easy to handle and low stress measurement system. In this way, a meaningful medical control during the therapy is also possible.

 

 

Method

A simple, but effective possibility to control the respiratory activity of patients is the analysis of breath sounds. These are acquired by an electronic system and subsequently classified by means of digital signal processing algorithms.
By monitoring patients with sleep apnea, the system automatically detects the moments when respiratory discontinuities occur, and measures the snore intensity. After the measurements, statistics are created, which serve as basis for future treatment. In this way, the risk of the disease can be determined and the success of a therapy, evaluated.

 

 

Integration

 

The integration into the Personal Health Monitor allows easy combination of the measurements with those of other sensors. Especially the combination with ECG, blood pressure measurement and pulse oximetry offers meaningful diagnostics, similar to those gained in a sleep laboratory. Compared to measurements taken in a sleep laboratory this system offers long term measurements without considerable limitations of the patient’s quality of life .

 

 

Projects

Personal Health Monitor (PHMon)

Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV)

Atmungs-Monitoring

Belastungsfreies Atmungsmonitoring

Hintergründe

 

Aktuelle Schätzungen gehen davon aus, dass 25 bis 30 Prozent der Bevölkerung in den westlichen Industriestaaten unter Schlafstörungen wie z. B. Atmungsstörungen leiden. Viele dieser Störungen können effektiv behandelt werden. Die Mehrzahl der Betroffenen erhält allerdings noch keine adäquate Diagnose und Therapie, obwohl bekannt ist, dass unbehandelte Schlafstörungen die Lebensqualität der Betroffenen erheblich einschränken können. Eine Diagnose im Schlaflabor bedeutet neben einer erheblichen Belastung für den Patienten auch einen enormen zeitlichen und personellen Aufwand. Zusammen mit der geringen Zahl an verfügbaren Diagnoseplätzen führt dies dazu, dass eine Schlafapnoe-Erkrankung häufig über lange Zeit nicht erkannt wird.

Im Rahmen des Personal Health Monitor-Projektes wird ein System entwickelt, welches zur Voruntersuchung bei Verdacht auf Schlafapnoe dienen kann. Besonderes Augenmerk wird dabei auf eine vom Patienten einfach anzuwendende und belastungsarme Messmethode gelegt. Auf diese Weise ermöglicht das Monitoring-System auch eine aussagekräftige Verlaufskontrolle während der Therapie.

 

 

Methode

 

Eine einfache, aber leistungsfähige Möglichkeit zur Überwachung der Atemtätigkeit stellt die Analyse der Atemgeräusche dar. Diese werden über ein kompaktes elektronisches System erfasst und anschließend anhand einer geeigneten Signalverarbeitung klassifiziert. In der Abreitsgruppe werden solche intelligenten Algorithmen zur Analyse der Atemtätigkeit entwickelt.
Die ermittelten Ergebnisse werden dann per Bluetooth™ drahtlos an eine Basisstation übermittelt und stehen dort zur weiteren Verwendung wie z. B.der Übermittlung an eine elektronische Patientenakte bereit.

 

 

Integration

 

Durch die Integration in den Personal Health Monitor ist eine Kombination der Messergebnisse mit denen der übrigen Sensoren leicht möglich. Insbesondere das Zusammenspiel mit den Teilsystemen EKG, Blutdruck und Pulsoxymetrie erlaubt eine ähnlich aussagekräftige Diagnostik wie im Schlaflabor. Im Gegensatz zur Untersuchung im Schlaflabor können mit dem Personal Health Monitoring-System auch Langzeitmessungen ohne große Einschränkungen der Lebensqualität der Patienten durchgeführt werden.

 

 

Projekte

Personal Health Monitor (PHMon)