Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung

Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics (HIRST)

Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics (HIRST)

Research


Teratronics is a multi-disciplinary research field embracing key aspects of optics and photonics, high-frequency electronics, high-throughput digital signal processing and teratronic systems. It is characterized by an intimate and inseparable co-integration of these elements. Applications of teratronic systems comprise terabit/s data communications, processing of waveforms with THz bandwidth, and exploitation of such waveforms in metrology and sensing.

Research in the field of teratronics requires expert knowledge in physics, materials science, electrical engineering, systems engineering, and computer science. These skills cannot be acquired in the framework of any of the classical academic disciplines. HIRST offers a multi-disciplinary training program that enables next-generation researchers to explore the immense potential of Teratronics.

 

 

The Graduate School


The Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics was established in 2012 to produce a new generation of researchers and developers with competences in the entire electromagnetic spectrum.
The Graduate School is a response to the increasing need in science and industry for interdisciplinary experts in the field of high-frequency electromagnetic waves and technologies for applications in medical technology, sensor and safety technologies, communication, but also energy technology.
The field addressed by the Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics goes clearly beyond the terahertz technologies currently discussed. Teratronics comprises knowledge in electronics, photonics, and materials sciences with the objective of working at the highest frequencies and bit rates on a sound theoretical foundation and at the cutting edge of technology.

Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV)

Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics (HIRST)

Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics (HIRST)

Forschung

Teratronik ist ein multidisziplinäres Forschungsfeld, welches Schlüsselaspekte aus den Bereichen Optik und Photonik, Hochfrequenzelektronik, digitale Signalverarbeitung mit hohem Datendurchsatz sowie teratronische Systeme umfasst. Es ist gekennzeichnet durch eine enge und untrennbare Co-Integration dieser Elemente. Die Anwendungen teratronischer Systeme beinhalten Kommunikation mit Datenraten im terabit/s Bereich, die Verarbeitung von Wellenformen mit THz Bandbreite und die Verwendung solcher Wellenformen in Sensorik und Messtechnik.
Die Forschung im Bereich der Teratronik erfordert Expertenwissen in Physik, den Materialwissenschaften, der Elektrotechnik, dem Systemingenieurswesen und der Informatik. Diese Fähigkeiten können im Umfeld einer der klassischen akademischen Disziplinen nicht erworben werden. HIRST bietet daher ein multidisziplinäres Ausbildungsprogramm, um den Forschern der nächsten Generation die Erforschung des immensen Potentials der Teratronik zu ermöglichen.

 

Die Graduiertenschule

Die Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics wurde 2012 gegründet um eine neue Generation von Forschern und Entwicklern mit Kompetenzen im gesamten elektromagnetischen Spektrum auszubilden.
Die Graduiertenschule ist eine Antwort auf den zunehmenden Bedarf in Forschung und Industrie an interdisziplinären Experten im Bereich hochfrequenter elektromagnetischer Wellen einschließlich der Technologien für Anwendungen in der Medizintechnik, der Sensor- und Sicherheitstechnik, der Kommunikationstechnik und nicht zuletzt auch in der Energietechnik.
Das Forschungsfeld der Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics geht zweifelsohne auch über derzeit diskutierten Teraherz-Technologien hinaus. Die Teratronik umfasst Wissen in Elektronik, Photonik und Materialwissenschaften mit dem Ziel höchste Frequenzen und Datenraten auf Basis einer soliden theoretischen Grundlage zu erreichen.