deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

PSF / MTF Measurement System

Background

 

A special measurement system for determination and validation of imaging properties of optical components has been designed at the ITIV. It enables the determination of imaging properties and hence the optical quality of monofocal and mutifocal optical component . The measurement is according to EN/ISO11979. 
Our measurement, validation and certification services are frequently used by industry, e.g., concerning the optical quality of bifocal intra ocular lenses (IOL) or bifocal contact lenses. The ability to validate multifocal systems is a big advantage compared to other commercial devices.

 

Functional Principle

Basic principle for the validation of the imaging properties of an optical component is the measurement of the Point Spread Function (PSF , DIN/ISO 9334-9336). The PSF is comparable to the Dirac impulse known from analogue electronics transferred to the optical system. By analysing the PSF imaged through the optical device under test (ODUT) the optical properties of the ODUT can be derived.
 

For this calculation, the most important criterion is the resolution of the system, e.g., the maximal line density (spatial frequency) that can be distinguished after imaging through the ODUT. A tool to determine this is the Modulations Transfer Function  (MTF ). The MTF can be derived from the PSF by Fourier transformation.

 

 

Measurement System Setup

 

A laser source is collimated by a special high precision optical system. This highly parallel light beam is directed onto the ODUT. Using a high resolution and high precision commercial digital camera the magnified image of the focus (equal to the PSF) is recorded. Afterwards a personal computer calculates the optical properties of the ODUT.

 

For measurements of intra ocular lenses (IOL) or contact lenses the optical properties of the typical human eye have to be simulated.
In the case of the intra ocular lens this is done by an artificial eye which simulates the optical properties of the cornea (according to EN/ISO 11979). The IOL itself is measured inside a bath of physiologic solute since otherwise the refraction properties as well as optical errors would be increased substantially.

Contact Lenses  on the other hand need an eye phantom that also simulates the surface properties of the natural cornea as well as the very challenging task of generating the same moisture conditions then when applied at the human eye.

 

 

Services

 

 

The ITIV offers services in the fields of optic design and optical instrumentation. Due to our long-time experience the group has a profound expertise especially in the field of validation of imaging properties of optical components. This makes the ITIV a competent partner for industrial research and development projects. The services offered include measurement and validation as well as certification.

 

Contact

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Stork

english  | Home | Impressum | KIT

MTF Messstand

Hintergrund

 

Zur Vermessung der Abbildungseingenschaften optischer Komponenten wurde am Intsitut eine spezielles Messystem entwickelt, welches es ermöglicht, die Abbildungseigenschaften und damit die optische Qualität von monofokalen und multifokalen Systemen zu bestimmen. Die Messung erfolgt dabei gemäß EN/ISO11979. 
Unsere Messdienstleistungen und Gutachten werden häufig von Industriekunden genutzt, beispielsweise zur Vermessung und Begutachtung von monofokalen und bifokalen Intraokularlinsen (IOL) oder von bifokalen Kontaktlinsen.

 

 

Funktionsweise

 

Grundlage für die Vermessung der Abbildungeigenschaften einer optischen Komponente ist die Messung der Punkt-Verwaschungs-Funktion (Point Spread Function, PSF, DIN/ISO 9334-9336). Die PSF stellt gleichsam das Äquivalent eines Dirac-Impulses für das optische System dar. Durch die Auswertung der Abbildung durch die optische Komponente kann dann auf ihre optische Qualität geschlossen werden.

 

Wichtigstes Kriterium ist dabei das Auflösevermögen, also die maximale Liniendichte (oder auch Ortsfrequenz), die bei einer Abbildung durch die optische Komponente noch eindeutig erkannt werden kann. Mass für dieses Auflösungsverhältnis ist die Modulations Tranfer Funktion (Modulation Transfer Function, MTF). Sie wiederum kann durch eine Fouiertransformation direkt aus der PSF abgeleitet werden.

 

 

Messaufbau

 

Eine Laserlichtquelle erzeugt mittels eines speziellen optischen Aufbaus hochparalleles Licht. Dieses parallele Lichtbündel wird auf die zu testende Komponente gerichtet. Mittels einer hochauflösenden und hochempfindlichen Kamera wird nun das vergößerte Bild des Fokus vermessen. Durch anschliessende Signalverarbeitung im PC wird die Qualität der optischen Abbildung bestimmt.
 

Zur Messung von Intraokularlinsen (IOL) oder von Kontaktlinsen müssen zudem noch die optischen Eigenschaften das natürliche Umfelds simuliert werden. Im Falle der Intraokularlinsen geschieht dies mit Hilfe eines künstlichen Auges, welches dei Brechkraft einer typsichen Cornea nachbildet (gemäß EN/ISO 11979). Zudem muss die IOL in einem Bad mit physiologischer Lösung betrieben werden, da bei einem Betrieb in Luft die Brechkräfte und damit die Abbildungsfehler deutlich größer wären.

Im Falle von Konatktlinsen muss ebenfalls die Brechkraft wie die Oberflächgeometrie mittels einer künstlichen Cornea nachgebildet werden. Eine besondere Herausforderung stellt es dabei dar, die Linsen vor dem Austrockenen und der damit verbundenen Veränderung der Abbildungseigenschaften zu schützen.  

 

 

Dienstleistungen

 

Das Institut bieten Dienstleistungen im Rahmen Optik Design und optische Messtechnik an. Speziell im Bereich der Vermessung der Abbildungsqualität optischer Komponenten ist die Arbeitsgruppe mit ihrer langjährigen Erfahrung ein idealer Partner für Industrie und Forschungseinrichtungen. Die angebotenen Dienstleistungen umfassen dabei sowohl Messungen als auch Gutachten.

 

 

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Stork